Okemah Lake Park

Okemah Lake provides perfect get aways for day trips to over night camping. Shady trees along the gentle lake edge beg for lazy day picnics. Cool lake water beckons for summer day swimming. As dusk begins to settle, settle into camping areas to enjoy the stars . Don’t for get your fishing pole when you bring your boat for a tranquil day on the water.

Enjoy your stay on Okemah City Lake. We are proud of our park area and lake and are always interested in any comments you may have about our facilities. If you have a comment you can call the Manager’s Office at 918-623-1050 or write to City Hall, 502 W. Broadway Street, Okemah OK 74859.

 

Reservation and contact information

Camping and pavilion reservations are available. Boating Permits can be obtained through City Hall. For more information see below or please call City Hall at 918-623-1050.

Park Hours: Sunrise to Sunset
Phone: 918-623-1050

General Park Rules

  • All pets shall be on a leash at all times
  • Campsites, trees, restrooms, or any other lake property shall be protected, not harmed, or destroyed.
  • All speed limits shall be obeyed.
  • Glass bottles and containers are prohibited.
  • Firearms (including air rifles and pellet guns) are not allowed.
  • All illegal drugs are prohibited.
  • Those persons causing a public disturbance shall be removed from the Lake area or arrested.
  • Intoxicated persons shall be arrested.
  • Pollution of the lake of any kind is prohibited
  • No rocks or plants shall be removed from their location.
  • DO NOT remove rocks from the shoreline for any reason.

Jaycee Point-Swimming Beach Area

Swimming shall be allowed only in the designated areas and all swimmers must remain inside· of the marking Children under 14 are not allowed to swim without an adult present. State Law No Swimming after sunset.

 

All Boaters must abide by the Oklahoma Boat & Water Rules, Regulations And Safety Laws issued by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. Class “A”. Boats include PWC {Personal Watercraft). It is the responsibility of the Boat operator to know the rules of the road for boat and water safety. All City of Okemah Ordinances shall apply to Okemah City Lake,

 

Boating Fees

  • Payable in advance at City Hall.
  • Daily fees: $5.00
  • Annual fees for Boat Class “A” and PWC: $30.00
  • Boat Dock Permits: $50.00
  • Jet Ski Permits: $40.00 Yearly Sticker / $10 Daily Voucher
    Note: Daily vouchers must be placed on the windshield of the vehicle for the day of the pass.

 

Boating Rules & Regulations

  • Boats with out-of-the-water exhaust systems are prohibited.
  • Any boat that disturbs the peace and tranquility of the lake its surroundings, residents, or visitors is prohibited. Determined by the Okemah Lake Manager or Police Officer.
  • All Boats shall travel in a counter-clockwise direction.
  • All boats/PWC must have a current Okemah Lake permit attached before entering the water. Daily Permits can be issued at the drop-box. A fine can be issued for launching without a permit.
  • No Boats/PWC shall be allowed within 150 feet of the swimming area.
  • Boat operators under the age of 16 must have a boater safety certification.
  • Operators of Boats/PWC shall be 14 years of age or older. Operators under the age of 16 shall be accompanied by a responsible adult.
  • No Wake shall be allowed within 150 feet of any boat ramp or when passing through the area of the old dam from either direction.
  • No PWC/Jet Ski’s in the Old Lake, unless the person operating is traveling to or from a dock at NO WAKE speed.
  • The OLD LAKE is a NO WAKE ZONE.
  • A distance of 150 feet shall be maintained from any dock, raft, boathouse, anchored or moored vessel except when proceeding at no-wake speed.
  • No person shall operate or give permission to operate parasails, water skis, surfboards, or similar device or any vessel in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the life or property of any person.
  • No person shall operate any motorboat, vessel or similar device while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance.

HUNTING & FISHING

  • All federal, state and city laws shall be obeyed.
  • All Persons shall possess a current Oklahoma license or exemption.
  • Noodling for fish is not allowed.
  • No Hunting shall be allowed except waterfowl hunting (only during the season and with a permit).
  • Duck blinds may be placed on a first come, first served basis but must be removed immediately after the season ends.

BASS TOURNAMENT RULES AND REGULATIONS 

  1. All tournaments must be booked in advance
  2. No more than one tournament per day
  3. All fish caught are to be released after weigh-in, except fish that will not live or if they are a state record
  4. Persons weighing in fish must wear wet cloth or rubber gloves and if all possible handle the fish by lip only
  5. All boats used in tournament must have aerated live wells and the live wells should be running at all times with either fish protection pellets or fish protection liquid in live wells.
  6. There is a four fish limit per team or four fish per boat.
  7. No tournaments will held during the months of July and August
  8. If the air temperature is forecast to be more than 85 degrees for that day, then weigh-in will be done at 1:00pm
  9. One arm creek of the lake will be closed to all fishing during spawning season, March 1 through May

For more information on bass tournaments contact City Hall (918) 623-1050.

Camping and Pavilion

Fees shall be paid at City Hall Monday – Friday 8 a.m to 4:30 p.m.

Reservations for areas may be done up to one year ahead of time by payment in advance at City Hall.

Please Note:
There will be no refunds.
Rain checks are available but must be requested at least two (2) weeks before the reservation date.

Non-Fee Areas: Camping or other picnic facilities located in the non-fee area (Jaycee Point-Swimming Beach Area) may be used by the public on a first-come, first-served basis without payment. However, anyone wishing to reserve the pavilion and Jaycee Point will be required to pay the fee as shown.

  • Electric & water services:
    $25.00 per night / $20.00 Seniors
  • Primitive site (no electric or water):
    $15.00 per night / $10.00 Seniors
  • Pavilion site:
    $30.00 per day
  • Monthly RV for camping with electric & water:
    $400.00 per month (Available through Memorial Day only)
    NOTE: To be eligible, must provide proof of residence. Must provide a suitable reason if extending camping beyond a month, such as work, family illness, etc. The fee is due at the start of the month of the 30 day period. The location of the monthly camping space will include the placement in the least used camping sites. Monthly sites will be discontinued during peak season, which runs from Memorial Day until Labor after which a per night rate must be paid.
  • ATV/Golf Cart Permits:
    $25.00 Annual Permit Sticker.
    NOTE: ATV/Golf Carts are allowed at Okemah Lake as long as owners have filled out the application, turned it into City Hall, and purchased an annual permit sticker for $25.00. The police department must have inspected the vehicle and it must pass the inspection on a yearly basis. Drivers of the vehicles must have a current and valid driver’s license and proof of insurance available when using the vehicle. Download Application for ATV Golf Cart Permit or pick one up from City Hall.

 

Additional Times & Rules

  • Check-in Time for campsites is 1:00 p.m.
  • Checkout Time for campsites is 12:00 p.m.
  • Peace & Quiet Time is 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.
  • The entrance gate will be open from sunrise to sunset. The gate may be open earlier or later for special events. (Determined by the Lake Manager or Police Officer).
  • Exit from the Lake by means of a one-way traffic controller shall be allowed at all times providing all other rules and regulations are obeyed.
  • Each camper or park user is responsible for keeping their space clean. Cigarettes and pop tops are litter. Fine may be issued for littering.
  • Glass bottles and containers are prohibited.
  • Pollution of the lake is prohibited.
  • All pets must be leashed at all times.
  • Swimming shall be allowed only in the designated areas and all swimmers must remain inside· of the marking Children under 14 are not allowed to swim without an adult present. State Law No Swimming after sunset.